Resist The Urge

Cooking and baking have been a love of mine since I was a young girl spending many hours in the kitchen with my mom and grandma. Now a days I still spend every chance I get in the kitchen baking or cooking up something.  This morning I was up early at 4:30 a.m. preparing an order of Flan for a customer.  I was waiting for the sugar to caramelize so I could put everything together and bake it. Now if you have ever made caramelized sugar you know it takes a bit of time and patience. Most importantly you know not to stir the sugar during this process because this could cause sugar to recrystalize and you won’t get a good result. Well, honestly I was running behind schedule and in a hurry this morning. I gotta admit I was so tempted to give that sugar a few good stirs to try to hurry it along; even though I knew that the results could be disastrous. Besides, I reminded myself, that no amount of stirring would make the sugar caramelize any faster.  I am happy to say I resisted the urge and the caramelized sugar came out perfectly and Flan turned out beautifully.

This got me thinking about the times when there are situations in our lives that require us to be patient. Many times we want to get quick resolution. In our desire to speed up the process, we forget that God is in the midst of the situation. I know I have been guilty of doing this. We should resist the urge to hurry things along or take actions that might cause more damage than good. In these situations, whatever they may be, I think it is God’s plan for us to be patient and wait. While we are patiently waiting He is working out all of the details. He is using this time for our ultimate benefit and for His glory. What a blessing we will find when we patiently wait on Him, and just trust His plan and purpose.

In my own life I have seen how He uses these waiting times to refine me, and build my faith, strength and character. Maybe God is using the Rheumatoid Arthritis to teach me to be more patient and dependent on Him. I have seen how He is guiding me, helping me to resist the urge to do things in my own timing and through my own strength. I am finding that when I place my full trust in Him, even through the darkest situation I can find sweet peace and assurance of His love and care for me.

Lovingly He has reminded me of the many times that I have tried to stand on my own strength. To be honest when I tried doing it in my own way and my own strength it just didn’t work. God has shown me just how sweet it is to trust in Him; to patiently wait for His timing and plan for my life. Gotta admit it isn’t always easy; especially when I can’t see the outcome or I don’t understand His purpose. But oh what a blessing it has been when I have patiently waited on Him, and trusted completely in His plan. The result always turns out beautiful.

So I ask you Lord to please give me grace so that I will lay my complete trust on you. Thank you Heavenly Father for Your tender mercies that You so lavishly pour out on me. You give me new mercies each and everyday. You are awesome God!!!

’Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus,
And to take Him at His Word;
Just to rest upon His promise,
And to know, “Thus says the Lord!”

Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him!
How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er
Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus!
O for grace to trust Him more!

Psalms 130:5~~”I am waiting for the Lord, my soul is waiting for Him, and my hope is in His Word.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

