Mercies In Disguise

At times I wish I had the ability to just grab a pair of scissors and cut myself and those I love free from the pain and struggles that come our way.  The truth is, that what I consider a struggle may often be God’s way of preparing me, growing me, and providing the strength I will need for the next day’s battles.

In the natural way of viewing things, from my human perspective, it is often
difficult to submit myself to God in times of struggles, when His way hurts. It is often difficult even though I know all of the promises that He has given us in His word. I know He wants me to have the blessings and freedoms Christ died for us to have. Sometimes though, I think that His mercies come to us in unexpected ways.

In my struggles God often times speaks to me not only through His word but through other brothers and sisters in Christ.  No matter how He speaks to me or who He uses, His message always ministers to the present condition of my heart. He demonstrates over and over again His love and concern for me.

When I stop to remember that the struggles in life are God’s strengthening exercises for His children, it is then that I can truly embrace His goodness and accept His good and perfect plan for my life. Some of His most tender mercies have come when I have truly listened to Him.

Today a sweet sister in Christ shared with me the lyrics from Laura Story’s song Blessings. God truly sent that song at just the right moment. I had never heard this song before and it truly touched my heart. I pray it will touch your heart too. Below are the lyrics and song.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
We pray for blessings
We pray for peace
Comfort for family, protection while we sleep
We pray for healing, for prosperity
We pray for Your mighty hand to ease our suffering
All the while, You hear each spoken need
Yet love us way too much to give us lesser things

We pray for wisdom
Your voice to hear
And we cry in anger when we cannot feel You near
We doubt Your goodness, we doubt Your love
As if every promise from Your Word is not enough
All the while, You hear each desperate plea
And long that we’d have faith to believe

Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears
And what if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near
What if my greatest disappointments
Or the aching of this life
Is the revealing of a greater thirst this world can’t satisfy
And what if trials of this life
The rain, the storms, the hardest nights
Are Your mercies in disguise?

Gallery | This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mercies In Disguise

  1. Jenny says:

    Beautiful wisdom in your post, Cammie. I have felt like this at times. We just have to trust that these struggles are there for a reason, although we may not understand that reason until much later on. Thanks for reminding me of this. 😉

    • Jenny, I am just learning this whole blog thing and I just realized you had posted. So sorry for the delay in response. I know what it is to lack trust, I have had plenty of opportunities.God just keeps showing me He is faithful even when I lack faith and trust in Him.Don’t know what my situation would be like if I didn’t have Him.

  2. Lori says:

    Cammie, Thank you so much for sharing your heart and the song too. God is good all the time to us, even when it is hard for us to realize. Thank you for the reminder. Love, Lori

  3. Michelle Moreno says:

    Amen!!

Leave a Reply

