What RA Is Not

What Rheumatoid Arthritis isn’t… a walk in the park, a day without pain/stiffness to some degree, or anything like those commercials portray it. RA is:
Rheumatoid arthritis is an autoimmune disease. This means that the body’s immune system mistakenly attacks the tissues it is supposed to protect.

Yes, RA is n autoimmune disease that affects the joints, but it also can effect other parts of your body as well. There is no cure for this disease.

It effects your daily life in so many ways.  To be completely honest I get so frustrated when I see those commercials for RA medicines. They are  not an accurate depiction of my life with RA.  Many of the things I could do or I enjoyed doing before RA I am no longer able to do.  Most days are a struggle even with taking the medicines.

Anther thing that also frustrates me is that they down play the side effects that come with taking the meds. And I have yet to hear any mention of the black box warning some of them have.  Enbrel has a black box warning because there is an increased risk of cancer for those who use it. Humira and Remicade have a black box warning now too.

Yes, life with RA,is no walk in the park. It is often scary, limiting, and definitely challenging. The medicines are not without some risk.  The sad truth for those of us who are living with RA there isn’t much choice yet.  We can only hope, and pray that one day very soon there will be a cure.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What RA Is Not

  1. You got my vote for that cure!!! I couldn’t agree more with this post.

  2. I keep hoping and praying too. I wish is could be as easy as taking a vote. It would certainly make things a lot simpler.

  3. Natalia says:

    Hi Cammie,

    My name is Natalia and I’m the Community Coordinator for an online health community called WEGO Health (www.wegohealth.com). I came across your blog, while doing some research into the online RA community. I was so impressed the great resource you have created for the greater RA community.

    Just wanted to drop you a quick note because we recently launched a new video platform called WEGOHealth.tv and are in the process of building a RA Channel featuring the advice, information and wisdom of Health Activists like yourself. I think you would be an excellent addition to the channel and I would love to chat with you about possibly creating a video with us!

    Please check out our site; http://tv.wegohealth.com/ and get back to me at your convenience if you have any interest.

    I know this note it a little out of the blue and I understand if it’s not something you would be interested in, but I didn’t want you to miss out on the opportunity.

    Thanks,

    Natalia
    Community Coordinator
    WEGO Health
    nataliaf@wegohealth.com
    617.777.7271

    • Natalia,
      Sorry to be so long in getting back to you. It’s been a very busy time for me of late. Trying to get my youngest son off to college in a town a couple hours drive from here and fighting a nasty flare at the same time has been draining. Thank heaven for a great support team in my other 2 sons and good friends too who will also step in and help out. The flare is gone now and soon my son will be too. Kind of bittersweet watching him go off to school.
      I will take a look at your sight first of this week and get back to you. Thanks so much for adding a channel for RA. We desperately need it. My understanding from my research is that only $26.00 and change is spent per patient on RA. This is appalling, especially when so much more is spent on other diseases that affect less people. Not that any disease isn’t worth researching, but there has to be more done for those who suffer with RA.
      Once again I will check out your sight first of the week and get back with you. Have a great week.
      Cammie

Leave a Reply

