Reality Check

This past Friday I received a check. It wasn’t a paycheck or a winning lottery check,  it was a reality check. It was a real slap in the face kind off reality check for me.  Friday was the day I needed to take my son to Tucson for his transfer student orientation at the University of Arizona.  Thursday evening I had begun a nasty flare in my left leg. It was painful to move it or walk on it. I took my usual pain meds at bedtime and prayed for the flare to go away as quickly as it had showed up. After a fitful night of sleep I awoke to a still painful leg.  I wasn’t sure just how I was going to make the drive down to Tucson much less make it through the day, but I was bound and determined to muddle through somehow. Well, muddle through I did. Even though every step was excruciating.  About halfway through the day my oldest son and I had stopped at the Jack in the Box up the street from the university to have a root beer float while we waited for my youngest son to complete his orientation.  As we were getting up to leave I nearly fell down as my leg gave way to the pain.  I needed help from my son to get down the embankment to the car. Reality sunk in. It’s time to get that cane I have been dreading. The reality is there are days when I am going to need it. Forget about what others might think, forget about how I will look or feel using an assistive device such as a cane. Reality of the matter is I do need it.

So I am going shopping.  Not for a new dress, not for a new handbag, shoot not even for a new car. I am going shopping for a cane.  Hmmm…. I wonder if they have one in Hello Kitty pink???

Gallery | This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reality Check

  1. OK, yes at times I can be nuts 🙂 Hello Kitty Pink…found it. Check out fashionablecanes.com, Item 10923. They even have one with kitties on it if you prefer. Might as well make a fashion statement while you are at it. If you got it…flaunt it I say. Enjoy your new fashion accessory! Instead of the red hat club, we can all start the cute cane club!

  2. Love it. Love it. Yes, lets do. I must take a picture of it when it comes..

  3. Kelly says:

    I love your writing Cammie.
    I hate that reality you are dealing with.
    Deb is right I guess – we do have a kind of cruel club. We didn’t like joining, but we understand and value each other.
    God bless.

    • Thanks Kelly. Yes, Deb is right. This a very cruel club indeed. However I do find strength in my faith, my friends, the true ones who are there when all others have walked out. I also draw so much support from other who unfortunately are in the club with me. We can be there for each other even it is just an email of encouragement or a small reply in a posting that might lift us up. We understand each other even more than some of those who do not belong to this horrible club will ever be able to. Thanks for your words of support. Wishing pain free days ahead for all of us. And praying every day for a cure to be just around the horizon.

Leave a Reply

