Perfect Peace Even In The Scariest Of Moments

Because of the Rheumatoid Arthritis possibly causing joint issues with one of my shoulders I was sent for an MRI.  Now I have never had one before, and was not quite sure just what to expect. It was a little nerve-wracking, but thankfully the MRI is over and done with now. Unless that is, the MRI shows something else that needs a closer look and my doctor decides to send me for an MRI with contrast dye injected into the shoulder joint.  Hopefully the radiologist will see all he needs to see on this one and that won’t be necessary.

Even though it was a little nerve-wracking I can’t say it was a completely horrible experience. However I can’t really say it was pleasant either; especially if you are claustrophobic or squeamish about tight spaces.  I think that was worst part for me. It might have been OK if I hadn’t opened my eyes and seen just how enclosed I was. Dog gone it I just had to peek.  The noise from machine was loud even with the earplugs, but that didn’t bother me as much as being so enclosed and strapped in. Yikes!! Nothing like being strapped in to make you even more panicked. I did not even get a panic button. Sure would have been nice to have one.   Just sayin. 🙂

In all fairness to the Tech who did my MRI, I gotta say she was great. She was very calming and soothing and I honestly feel she was a big part of what helped me through it. I thank God for her calming presence.  She explained everything before and during the whole process. Her best recommendation was to just close my eyes and relax, and after those first few panicky moments I did.  She said it was important to breathe normal (hard to do if you get panicky like I did) so the views would come out good and not blurry. She gave me earplugs and told me she was just a holler away or to wiggle me feet and she would know something was up.

You know those first few moments of panic caused  me to have to endure more time in that tight enclosed space because a couple of the first views had to be re-done due to being blurry. Thankfully I was able to calm down and get the MRI done. One thing that really helped was that I kept repeating in my mind the words to hymns, praise music and asking God to give me His peace to help me get through. If only we would put our complete trust in Him from the very beginning of our most scary, most difficult moments how different the whole outcome would be.  There is no peace like the peace He gives. None. He would have given me His complete peace from start if I had just given my fears and anxieties to Him from the start. God promises to give us peace in every situation.  I can truly say God gives peace even in the midst of the most scariest of circumstances if we will just trust everything to Him.
I love the following Bible verses that talk about the peace that God gives:

You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in You. Isaiah 26:3

Now may the Lord of peace Himself give you PEACE at ALL TIMES and in every way… 2 Thessalonians 3:16a

I will lie down and sleep in peace, for You alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety. Psalm 4:8

Gallery | This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

