The View From Here

image
On October 24th, 2013 while at work I had a very nasty fall. About 10:00 that morning while I was turning to go back to my car for something I had forgotten I tripped and fell over a tiny speed bump. You’ve probably seen them. The small bright yellow, bolted into the ground type. Its color was so bright that I shouldn’t have been able to miss it. A speed bump that I had just walked over not moments before. Next thing I knew I was on the ground calling out for help, because I could not get up or move at all without being in extreme pain. It was very frightening. When help finally came and I was taken to the nearest hospital I found out that I had dislocated my shoulder, the least of my injuries. I had also managed to break my kneecap in pieces. The worst thing was that I had shattered my humerus into lots of little pieces. Yikes! After speaking with the ER doctor it was decided that I should be admitted because I would need surgery to repair all of the damage the fall had caused. Surgery wouldn’t happen till the next afternoon though. The next couple of days were pretty much a blur, thankfully, because of the strong pain medication I was given.

Now this unexpected and life altering turn of events was not the way I had planned for my day to go at all. My Heavenly Father however, in His love and care for me had planned this day even before I was born. Psalm 139:16 tells us this~ Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in Your book before even one of them came to be.~ Now friend you might be thinking why would a God who claims to love us allow this to happen? My honest answer is I do not know. Maybe one day the answer will come, but if it doesn’t that is ok; because when I finally reach my heavenly home, in the light of His glory, all of the earthly questions won’t matter.

For now what I do know is that no matter what happens in our lives God is still God, and He is still good and loving. Throughout my surgery and rehabilitation He demonstrated this to me in so many ways. He used this time to teach me so many valuable life lessons, and to show me His mercy and love in so many ways. Let’s face it friends we are not promised to go through life without struggles and hardships. They will come. What I have found is that we learn so much more from these times of struggles and hardship when we allow ourselves to be willing students in His classroom.

During my time in rehabilitation, every night that I was able I would leave a small reflection of my time there and simple things He was showing/teaching me during this season in my life. God laid it on my heart to share these reflections so that others who might be struggling through similar issues or hardships might see that there is hope. More than anything I wanted everyone to know that God is FAITHFUL, He is LOVING and He is GOOD. He works ALL THINGS, yes, even a horrible accident that happened to me on October 24th, 2013 for my good and His glory.

Here are a few of the many important lessons I learned while in His classroom…

Humbleness. When you allow others to do for you what you can not do for yourself it is a very humbling experience.

Baby steps. Learning to be patient and take small steps toward your goal.

Hopefulness. When we have fixed our faith and trust in God there is always a reason to be hopeful.

Thankfulness. Thankfulness is everything. It benefits the recipient, but it also enriches the heart of the one who is giving it.

Encouragement. Is a beautiful thing when you are going through a tough time. The encouraging words from a friend can turn the darkest day bright.

Strength and Bravery. On my own I am weak, but through Him I can do ALL THINGS. Phil. 4:13

Setbacks. They will come. Just keep your chin up, look for the bright side and keep moving forward one step at a time.

Hidden Blessings. Look for the hidden blessings in every situation. Sometimes it just takes a little more searching to find them, but trust me they are there.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

